Informational Text ~ Plate Tectonics

Standard

In Science, we are studying Plate Tectonics and Earth’s Structure.  Here is your mission:

  1. You will gather, read, and integrate relevant information from multiple print sources (science book, biography, articles) and digital sources (videos, interactive websites, graphics). 
  2. You will then examine and convey the theory of plate tectonics by writing a clear and accurate informational text.
  3. You will use technology to produce and publish writing and to interact and collaborate with others.  

To get us thinking about the Theory of Plate Tectonics, here are our  Standards Warm-Up PPT and Standards Warm-Up Note Taking resources. Additionally, here is a quick Informational Writing PowerPoint so you can review the differences between literary and informational writing.  Finally, here is your Science Notes Plate Tectonics template to complete as you research and pose questions on the Theory of Plate Tectonics.  Enjoy the learning process, sixth-grade scholars!

Plate Tectonic Videos

Screen Shot 2013-12-04 at 8.37.03 PM

Informational Text for Research:

Alfred Wegener

Alfred Lothar Wegener: Moving continents

Dictionary Definition of Plate Tectonics

Encyclopedia – Plate Tectonics

Plate Tectonics – Enchanted Learning

The Dynamic Earth ~ Plate Tectonics and Volcanoes

This Dynamic Earth ~ The Story of Plate Tectonics

Interactive Activities to Increase Comprehension:

Convection Currents

Global Plate Reconstructions

Plate Tectonics Interactive Animations

Plate Tectonics Puzzle

Sea-Floor Spreading

Self-Assessment

Online Vocabulary Builder:

Plate Tectonics

51 responses »

  1. Thank you for graciously including me in your introductory lesson to your Unit Study of Plate Tectonics. During the lesson, I recalled the names of the oceans, which I was a little fuzzy on before. Also, Sofia helped spark an interest in finding out more about the islands off the Coast of Asia, and to which continent they belong, especially Papau New Guinea. I didn’t know where Papau New Guinea was before yesterday.
    In addition to an interest in basic geography, Crystal’s question about why the mountain ranges are located at the edges of the continents made me think, and I like the hypothesis she developed. You have an exciting learning adventure ahead! By the end of this unit you will be our resident Pomona experts on plate tectonics, and you will have a good idea of how a scientist forms a hypothesis and sets out to prove it by using Alfred Wegener as a model.
    Ms. Rankin said that you will use these skills when you are in advanced science classes in the future, and this comment made me happy. I pictured you all in high school and then college, researching things that will help change the world. In white coats as doctors, in the mouths of volcanoes as geologists … I can’t wait to see what life has in store for you.
    Your # 1 Fan,
    Mrs. Brown

  2. Dear Mrs. Brown,

    Thank you for visiting our class and enthusiastically participating in our science lesson. Your presence was a gift to us.

    I, too, was inspired by the students’ active inquiry; their probing questions and unique insights allowed me to look at the topic from multiple perspectives. Moreover, their inquiry caused me to check some of my assumptions and seek further evidence to support my claims, which led me to correct and refine my thinking. AWESOME!

    In my opinion, there is no better way to approach science (or perhaps any other subject, for that matter) than observing, questioning, investigating, and refining. Our Pomona students are observant, inquisitive, persistent scholars! I am in complete agreement with you, Mrs. Brown; I cannot wait to see what life has in store for these bright stars!

    Sincerely,
    Ms. Rankin

  3. Dear Sixth-Grade Scholars,

    Friday, you demonstrated these character traits: hard work, alertness, cooperation, enthusiasm, determination, and skill. I am proud of your work. The questions you posed and the insights you shared allowed me to increase my learning and refine my thinking. Thank you! 🙂
    I wish you continued cooperation, curiosity, persistence, self-control, action, enthusiasm, hard work and skill as you begin your investigative work into the Theory of Plate Tectonics.

    With hope and pride,
    Ms. Rankin

  4. Thank you Mrs. Brown for including me in your comment. Today I did some research and I found out a lot of things that I didn’t know about plate tectonics.

  5. What I learned today is that when Alfred experimented with balloons and kites. His brother and he set a world record in the international Balloon Contest with his flying 52 hours straight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. On the Plate Tectonic Puzzle, one of the questions was who first proposed the theory of continental drift? and the answer was Wegener, and that was what I learned today 🙂

  7. I learned about how the two continental plates collide and how a small pocket of gas and dust collapsed under its own gravity 🙂 ❤

  8. I learned so much. I didn’t know that Alfred Wegener experimented with kites and balloons, and with his brother Kurt he set a world record in an international balloon contest flying 52 hours straight. I also learned that the tectonics plates collided.

  9. Today I learned about ALFRED LOTHAR WEGENER. I learned he served in the military during World War I. ALFRED LOTHAR WEGENER was born on 1880; he died on 1930. ;(

  10. Today I did the Plate Tectonics puzzle. One of the questions was “Which plate is thicker?” The answer was continental! That is what I learned today. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  11. Dear Ms. Rankin,
    Today I learned that the continents change their size. For instance the rise of the water can change the amount of land there is.

  12. Dear Ms. Rankin,

    Today I learned about the 3 types of plate tectonic movements. I never knew about them! It was really fun to learn new things.

  13. Today I learned about Plate Tectonics. I also learned about the crust, mantle, and the core. About 84% of Earth’s volume is mantle rock. 🙂

  14. I learned too much. I think I have too much knowledge now since this came. I didn’t know that the crust is not even a solid shell; it is broken up into huge pieces.

  15. Hi Class,
    Thank you for replying to my post! It looks like you have really dug in. Since the last time I was in your class, you have a lot more knowledge about plate tectonics. I love hearing you talk about researching. You can go so far if you know where to find information and know how to use that information to create knowledge.
    I can’t wait to see what you do next,

Leave a Reply

