Our Peace-Corp Pen Pal in Peru

Standard
Hola! Como estan todos?
 
Yo soy Jillian Anderson.  Yo soy una voluntaria de salud communitaria de Cuerppesao de Paz enPeru.  Cuerpo de Paz es una programa de los Estados Unidos que promueve viviendas saludables, agua y sanimiento, ayuda coneducacion, y otros programas.
 
Yo soy de Berkeley, California, pero fui a University of Irvine.  Me encanta la playa, el sol, y la comida de Mexico. Yo tengo 23 anos, y me gradue hasta 1 ano de universidad.  Yo estudie salud publica y educacion.
 
El razon que yo estoy en Cuerpo del Paz es porque yo tengo suenos de viviendo en un lugar donde yo puedo ayudar personas con minimos cosas materiales y acceso a menos recursos de nosotros en los Estados Unidos.  Por ejomple mi pueblo es dos horas de la ciudad donde podemos compras cosas como comida y nuestros vidas diarias.  Yo voy a compartir historias de mi experienca aqui con ustedes y estoy muy emocionada.
 
Hoy es mi primero dia de mi dos anos de mi servicio!!! Yo estoy abierta a todos tus preguntas.  Ciao!!
 
-Gracias,
Jillian
 
Now, my fourth-grade writers and scholars, you will compose a friendly letter to Jill.  Please use this letter generator to help you write your letter.  It’s FUN!  It helps you learn the five parts of a friendly letter with a sample letter.  It guides you through each step with its interactive generator.  It allows you to choose a pretty or cool border around your letter.  AND, it lets you save, share, and/or print your letter.  Just look at My Friendly Letter to Jill, which I created with the Letter Generator!  (Can you guess why I picked the border that I picked????)  Have fun, my wonderful writers! ~ Ms. Rankin
About Martha Rankin

I'm an educator for Newport-Mesa USD. I want to continually see things in new ways. I find inspiration in Gandhi's challenge: "You must be the change you want to see in the world."

8 responses »

  1. English Translation:
    Hello! How is everyone?
    I’m Jillian Anderson. I am a community health volunteer with Peace Corps in Peru. Peace Corps is a U.S. program that promotes healthy housing, water and healthcare, education, and other programs.
    I’m from Berkeley, California, but I went to University of CA, Irvine. I love the beach, the sun, and Mexican food. I am 23 years old, and I graduated from college over a year ago. I studied public health and education.
    The reason that I am in the Peace Corps is because I have dreams of living in a place where I can help people with minimal access to material things and less resources than we have in the United States. For example, my town is two hours from the city where we can buy things like food and other things for our daily lives. I’m going to share my stories about my experience with you here, and I am very excited.
    Today is my first day of my two years of service! I’m open to all your questions.

  2. Hi Jill,
    We are so glad to be able to learn about your experience in Peru as a community health volunteer. I have many questions. First, what is the name of your town where you now live? Do you have pictures of your town and the people that you can share? What type of food do you eat there? What is a typical day of work like for you?
    I have many more questions, but I would also like to tell you a little about myself. I also have a desire to help people who are less fortunate than I am. When I was at UCI, I went to live for a year in Costa Rica so I could study at the University of Costa Rica and learn about the politics of Central America. I also studied Latin American Literature there. I like to travel, and one of the trips I would like to take is to Machu Picchu, Peru.
    I really hope you have a fun, safe, and meaningful time in Peru. Please write us again and update us on your life in the Peace Corp.
    Sincerely,
    Martha Rankin

    • Hi! I am working on replying to the letters right now and I have gotten through 6 letters. Thank you guys so much! The town I live in is called Rica Play and I live in the district of San Jacinto in Tumbes. I will post pictures when my internet is strong enough in a week. I eat a lot of fish, rice, plantains, mangos and chicken. Right now, I am visiting houses and doing interviews to find out about each house in the mornings,I eat lunch at 1ish, then I do some work or relax until 5 when I go on a run with a lot of kids in my town. Also, on Tuesdays and Thursdays I teach english to elementary, middleschool and highschool kids in the mornings. Right now the majority of my work is getting to know my community and going to various meetings. Thats awesome that you went to Costa RIca! I did a program called Amigos de Las Americas in Highschool for 6 weeks in Costa RIca. I hope everything is going well and Ill try and have all the letters replied to soon!
      Jill or Lily as I am called here 🙂

  3. Hi Jill,

    I am subbing for Ms. Rankin, and how lucky for me that today is the day you are introduced to the class as their Peruvian pen pal! I got to tell the about who you are and how we are friends. I also get to write you a letter.

    It is hard to believe that at this time last year you were in Mali, West Africa and that now you’re in Peru, South America. You are quite the globe trotter! I am really excited to read more about your adventures and service work. By the time you read this letter, you will be a few days (or weeks…) into your service as a community health volunteer, and I am sure you have already accomplished great things. Please write more about those experiences!

    I think it is so special for Ms. Rankin’s class to have a Peruvian Peace Corps pen pal! Ms. Rankin’s class last year was able to learn a lot from you last year when were came to Pomona as a guest speaker. You made a very positive impression on them. The town you are placed in Peru is so fortunate to have you there to help them, and I am confident you will be a role model for the young people there the way you were, and continue to be, for the students here at Pomona.

    Stay safe, Jill. That way you can come home in two years and share all about your experiences in Peru in person, and maybe you can even teach us a dance you learned there. 🙂

    Your friend,
    Lisa

    P.S. I showed the class the letter you sent to me from Mali last year. It is very special to me, and I am just so thrilled that these fourth graders get to write to you now, too.

  4. Pingback: Pen-Pal Post to Peru « The Rankin-File Writing Blog

Leave a Reply

