Resources for “Lou Gehrig: The Luckiest Man”

Standard

This week, we are reading Lou Gehrig: The Luckiest Man in our Houghton Mifflin reading anthology.  We will use this POWERPOINT to introduce the selection.

Here are some resources to increase your comprehension and enjoyment of this reading selection.

Click on “Meet the Author” and “Meet the Illustrator” to learn about the author and illustrator.

Click on Spelling List for this week’s spelling words.

Click on e-Word Game to practice the vocabulary words.

Click on “Luckiest Man” speech to listen to and watch Lou Gehrig’s speech.

Click on National Baseball Hall of Fame to read more about Lou Gehrig.

Blog question:  What makes Lou Gehrig a hero?

Lou Gehrig: The Luckiest Man
Adler, Dav A.
AR Quiz No. 14422 EN Nonfiction
BL: 4.6 – AR Pts: 0.5
AR Quiz Types: RPVP
Rating: 3.0
Traces the life of the Yankees’ star ballplayer, focusing on his character and his struggle with the terminal disease amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.

54 responses »

  1. I learned that it took a while for David Adler to settle on writing as his career. As a child, he was known as the artist in his family. “Paintings and drawings I did when I was as young as 12 still hang in my parents’ home,” he says. More than 200 of his drawings and cartoons have been published in magazines and newspapers.

  2. I think the speech was… very inspiring and um,…
    I think he is an excellent role-model for everybody.
    including me!

    As for my reaction …I felt very sensitive.
    🙂 😉

  3. I heard that he was a great friend to other kids, and that his speech was cool because it was inspiring.:) 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. When I saw the speech, I felt sad because all those days he played baseball it was his best time, but now that he quit he felt sad not playing with the New York Yankees.

  5. Lou was a hero because he had great sportsmanship and because when he gave his speech he did not only talk about himself, he also talked about his teammates and his family!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  6. I thought the speech was very sad. Lou Gehrig’s family was crying, and his wife was crying, and so was he. Lou Gehrig is a hero because he didn’t lie and never bragged.

  7. His speech was cool because it was inspiring.:) 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  8. I think Lou Gehrig is a hero because he has great team spirit. For example, he prayed for his teammates.

  9. I thought that the speech was interesting because he thanked all his teammates instead of bragging about himself.

  10. I think Lou Gehrig was a hero because he had powerful team spirit. For example, he prayed for his team. Another example was he cared for his team not only for himself. Lou Gehrig didn’t brag or lie.

  11. I think Lou’s speech was cool because he had good sportsmanship. In the speech, he showed that he loved his family and his friends. (:

  12. I like the speech because Lou Gehrig had good team spirit because he told his manager to treat him like the others.

  13. I felt sad because Lou Gehrig had to leave the baseball team. He gave out a very wonderful speech. I learned that he had a disease that affects your nervous system. The speech really touched me.

  14. Lou Gehrig is a hero because he had good sportsmanship because he had good action to his teammates because he never told lies to his teammates and excuses.

  15. I just saw the video and for me it’s sad because his family and his wife were crying,and he’s a hero because gave up his career so his team could win. 😦 😦

  16. I think Henry Lou Gehrig is a hero because …
    Well,1st of all he was very kind, modest, and had good sportsmanship.
    Those are all character traits that we must earn and we are not born with.
    That’s why he is a hero.

  17. I think Lou Gehrig was a hero because he had powerful team spirit. For example he prayed for his team. Another example was he cared for his team not only for himself. Lou Gehrig didn’t brag or lie. He was modest.

  18. Lou Gehrig is a hero because he inspired people to give themselves a second chance and appreciate what they have in life.

  19. I think that Lou Gehrig is a hero because he has great sportsmanship and he thanked all his teammates too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

