Resources for “Gloria Estefan”

Standard

This week, we are reading “Gloria Estefan in our Houghton Mifflin reading anthology.  We will use this POWERPOINT to guide our introduction of the story.  In addition, here are some resources to increase your comprehension and enjoyment of this reading selection.

BUILD YOUR SKILLS:

Comprehension and Analysis Skills:

Vocabulary Skills:

  • Study the vocabulary and play games with these flashcards.
  • Play our e-Word Game to practice the vocabulary words.
Fluency Skills:

Spelling Skills:

Grammar/Language Skills:

ANALYZE AND RESPOND IN A BLOG COMMENT

Why do you think  Gloria Estefan enjoyed music so much while she was growing up?

Do you think Gloria and Emilio Estefan make a good musical team? Explain.

What do you learn about Gloria Estefan’s personality from the way she recovered from her accident?

Would you enjoy having the kind of fame that Gloria Estefan has achieved? Why or why not?

What qualities and accomplishments make Gloria Estefan a hero?

TAKE THE AR TEST (by Friday):

Gloria Estefan (HM Edition)
Boulais, Sue
AR Quiz No. 902062 EN Nonfiction
BL: 4.7 – AR Pts: N/A
AR Quiz Types: OR
Selection from Houghton Mifflin “Traditions” Grade 4 Pupil Edition.

 

46 responses »

  1. I learned that if a word has a y at the end, and you want to make it plural you have to take the y off, and add ies. For example, the word baby if you wanted to say more than one baby you would spell it b-a-b-i-e-s. (babies)

  2. I love the popper pronoun games a lot, and I also learned to put es,est,s,drop the y and add i.:) 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. Today I learned about Homonyms. I learned that Homonyms are words that sound the same, but spell different.That is what I learned today in the Rankin File Writing blog. 🙂

  4. Today I learned that if you want to make a word that ends in y plural you have to drop the y and add ies. For example, “family” turns into “families.” 🙂

  5. I got to level 5 on the tutorial!!!
    At 1:35 p.m. I went to the Official Website of Gloria Estefan.

    P.S. Everybody should visit the Rankin File Writing Blog because that’s where all the action is going on!!! 🙂 😉

  6. I learned that Sue Boulais’s endless curiosity about, in her words, “why and what kind and how much and who” has led her to write about a wide variety of subjects. Her biographies range from entertainers such as Gloria Estefan and Vanessa Williams to athletes such as Andres Galarraga and Trent Dimas.

  7. I played the homophones and I learned that homophones sound the same but spelled differently. I got 1 incorrect and 19 right. I also did the tutorial. That’s what I did today.

  8. Today in the computer lab I played the e-Word game and I won so that makes me an
    e-Word champ!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also played the tutorial game and I learned that when a word has a y at the end and you want to make it plural you take out the y and add i-e-s for example baby to make it plural you spell it like this babies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also practiced my fluency!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I learned a lot today can’t wait for next Tuesday!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  9. I past the tutorial. I went to Gloria Estefan’s website. I even played the Pronoun game. It was fun and it even helps you go higher on your grades!!!

Leave a Reply

