Hear Ye! Hear Ye! Just Ask Miss Yee!!

Standard

Dear Students,

Our wonderful new student teacher, Miss Yee, will join our 4th-grade family on Monday, April 2. We’re so excited!

In this “Hear Ye! Hear Ye! Just Ask Miss Yee” blog post, you may write Miss Yee a comment to welcome her.  In addition, you may want to introduce yourself and share a few details that will help her get to know you.  Finally, you may ask Miss Yee a question or two so that you can get to know her a little, too.

My successful writers, remember  to consider this week’s character trait SKILL as you write.  Use top-notch writing skillsPractice by “prewriting” and “drafting” until your writing grows finerPay attention to each detail as you revise and edit your work: format and organization, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and content.  Evaluate your work to make sure your writing is top-notch.  NOW, you are ready to publish your skillfully-written comment.   You will surely DAZZLE her! 🙂

Hear ye!  Hear ye!  Just ask Miss Yee!!

Sincerely,

Ms. Rankin

P.S.:  You may use this Components of a Friendly Letter to Miss Yee to help guide your writing.

“To weave a web demands great skill,
and snaring lunch is quite a thrill.
Practice makes my webs grow finer.
I’m a top-notch web designer.
I pay attention to each detail.
I do it right so I won’t fail.
I learned my skill through hours of drill.
To find success, you must have skill.

~Silky the Spider

Coach Wooden’s Inch and Miles ~ The Journey to Success

About Martha Rankin

I'm an educator for Newport-Mesa USD. I want to continually see things in new ways. I find inspiration in Gandhi's challenge: "You must be the change you want to see in the world."

47 responses »

  1. Dear Miss Yee,

    First, I want to send you a warm welcome to our fourth-grade class. We are so enthusiastic to meet you and learn from you. I have already heard wonderful things about you.

    Briefly, I wish to introduce myself. My name is Ms. Rankin. As you may guess, I love to write! I also enjoy reading, “being green,” gardening, playing guitar and singing, hiking, and loving on my son Jon and my two little doggies Sweetheart and Louise. (I am sure you will meet them all.)

    Now, I have two questions for you:
    1) Who was your favorite elementary-school teacher and why?
    2) Do you have any pets?

    I am looking forward to meeting you on Monday morning. In the meantime, enjoy this beautiful week.

    Pura vida,
    Ms. Rankin

  2. Dear Ms. Rankin,

    Hello! I am extremely excited to be joining you and your class in fourth grade!

    I have enjoyed reading and writing since I was an elementary school student. I can’t wait to meet Jon and your pups, Sweetheart and Louise! I love animals, especially dogs.

    My favorite elementary school teacher was my fifth grade teacher, Mrs. Haight. I remember she always encouraged the class to do their best, and we all wanted to meet or exceed her high expectations. I actually went to visit her yesterday, and it was funny how much smaller the classroom felt, but Mrs. Haight was still the same with her kind smile positive words.

    I have a few pets. My family has a dog, and she lives with my parents. Her name is Sara and she is a long haired dachshund and German shepherd mix. I miss her when I am at school, but I see her on the weekends. My roommates and I share a fish though, and her name is Sprite. She is a dark blue betta, and she is very lively!

    I look forward to seeing everyone on Monday!

    Enthusiastically,
    Miss Yee

    • Hello Miss Yee,

      Thank you so very much for your response. It makes my heart sing to know that you like to read and write…and that you love animals, especially dogs!

      I loved hearing about your fifth-grade teacher, Mrs. Haight. What a wonderful balance she offered her students: high expectations for success and kind positive words of encouragement. She sounds like someone I would very much like to meet. How wonderful that you have stayed in contact with her throughout the years.

      Your dog Sara sounds like a love. My little Sweetheart is a Doxie-Pin (mini pinscher dachshund mix). Louise is a terrier and ??? mix. Both are rescue dogs that we got through a local adoption sponsored by Newport Harbor High School. We hit the jackpot! 🙂

      It is fun to read your responses to our questions and learn more and more about you. You seem like a really awesome person. Again, I think we have hit the jackpot! 🙂 🙂

      Ms. Rankin

  3. Dear Miss Yee,

    I desire to heartily welcome you to our fourth-grade family.

    My name is Gina, and I am a nine-year-old girl in Ms. Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to read Junie B. Jones books and non-fiction books. I am most passionate about taking care of the environment.

    I am excited to get to know you. Here are two questions I would like to ask you:

    1. Do you like to write and why?
    2. What’s your favorite sport team and why?

    Sincerely,
    Gina

    • Dear Gina,

      Thank you! I am so excited to be joining you in your classroom!

      I used to read the Junie B. Jones book series when I was in elementary school. I am happy to know that students still enjoy reading about Junie B. and her adventures. I also used to be in Environmental Club when I was in third and fourth grade. I think it’s cool how you also care about the environment.

      I do love to write! I like to write because I believe I express myself best through words. I think about what I want to say more before I write (or, as in this case, type) than when I speak out loud. Writing things down also helps me remember important dates or memories.

      I suppose I really like the Los Angeles Lakers, but I was very sad when they traded Derek Fisher. The reason I like the Lakers is because my grandfather and dad both root for them, and I grew up cheering for them. However, I really enjoy swimming and follow USA Swimming closely, but that’s not really a team. (There was a Grand Prix meet in Indianapolis this weekend!) I can’t wait for the Olympics!

      I look forward to meeting you tomorrow!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  4. Dear Miss Yee,

    I want to warmly welcome you to our fourth-grade family. I can’t wait to meet you.

    My name is Gissel, and I am a nine-year-old girl in Ms. Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to read fiction books and play Chaos. I also enjoy writing on the blog. I am most passionate about helping protect animals.

    I am thrilled to get to knew you. Here are two questions I would like to ask you: 1. Do you have a favorite t.v. show? 2. Is it very funny?

    Sincerely,
    Gissel

    • Dear Gissel,

      I appreciate the warm welcome, and I can’t wait to meet you either!

      I also love to read! I usually read science fiction books, but I have not had as much time to read as I would like lately. I would love for you to tell me more about Chaos, because I have never heard of it before. This writing blog is great, and I look forward to writing and replying in it in the future. I also love animals and protecting them.

      My favorite TV show is Modern Family. I like watching it because I think the show is very funny! I usually watch it with my sister, Kimi, who is one of my roommates. She is also a student at UC Irvine.

      See you tomorrow!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  5. Dear Miss Yee,

    I want to enthusiastically welcome you to our fourth-grade friends. I can’t wait to meet you.

    My name Jonathan, and I am a nine-year-old student in Ms.Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to read non-fiction, play games that keep me fit like Soccer and Football, and learn how to play the trumpet. I also enjoy playing music and playing with my friends. I am most passionate about keeping our school clean and green.

    I am thrilled to get to know you. Here is one question I would like to ask you!

    What is your favorite dog and why?

    Once again, I am very happy to meet you on Monday morning. Until then, I hope you have a delightful weekend.

    Excitedly,
    Jonathan

    • Dear Jonathan,

      Thank you for the welcome! I can’t wait to meet you either!

      That’s awesome that you like to read non-fiction books! I did not read much non-fiction until I got to high school, and I regretted not starting to read it earlier. You sound so athletic! I used to play soccer occasionally when I was in elementary school, but I never played much football. You’re very musical too! I would love to hear more about the trumpet sometime. I love music.

      My favorite dog has changed over the years. When I was very little my favorite dog was the Chow Chow because my family used to have a dog who was part Chow Chow. Now I really like Dachshunds because my dog, Sara, is part dachshund, and I love how funny and cute long dogs with short legs are!

      I am also very excited to meet you Monday morning, and I hope you had a great weekend also!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  6. Dear Miss Yee,

    It is my absolute pleasure to welcome you to our fourth-grade family.

    My name is Zaira, and I am a nine-year-old girl in Ms. Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to play games like Chaos and Frisbee Soccer and read fiction and historical fiction chapter books. I also enjoy hanging out with my best friend, Issa. I am most passionate about drawing, taking care of the environment and helping to protect animals.

    I am thrilled to get to know you. Here is one question for you.
    1.) What’s your favorite hobby and why?

    Once again, I am very anxious to meet you on Monday morning. Until then, I hope you have a very pleasant weekend.

    Eagerly,
    Zaira

    • Dear Zaira,

      Thank you for the welcome! I am very excited to be a part of your fourth grade family.

      I have never heard of Chaos before, but it sounds exciting. One of my favorite books of all time is a historical fiction chapter book. Have you ever read The Witch of Blackbird Pond? I have never heard of Frisbee Soccer before either. I hope you can explain it to me! When I have free time I also like to hang out with my friends. I think it’s great how you are so passionate about taking care of the environment and protecting animals too.

      My favorite hobby is reading. I love how you can learn new information when you read, like when you learn in school. I also love how you can read about fictional characters, like Kit in The Witch of Blackbird Pond, and imagine and predict what will happen next. Reading is so exciting!

      I look forward to meeting you tomorrow! I hope you had a pleasant weekend too!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

      • No, I have never read The Witch of Blackboard Pond.

        P.S. Sorry this isn’t a sophisticated paragraph.

  7. Dear Miss Yee,

    I desire to enthusiastically welcome you to our fourth-grade family. I can’t wait to meet you.

    My name is Priscila, and I am a ten-year-old eager learner in Miss Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to play games that keep me fit such as tag and soccer. I also enjoy researching about animals. I am most passionate about putting an end to bullying. I am thrilled to meet you.

    Here is one question I would like to ask you = Do you have any brothers or sisters?

    Once again, I am very thrilled to meet you on Monday morning. Until then, I hope you have a relaxing weekend.

    ENTHUSIASTICALLY,
    Priscila 🙂

    • Dear Priscilla,

      Thank you for the enthusiastic welcome! I am very excited for the opportunity to be a part of your fourth grade family. We get to meet tomorrow!

      You sound so athletic! Do you play tag and soccer at recess? I would like to hear about your animal research. I would like to hear about which animals you enjoy learning about the most. I do not like bullying or bullies, and I am happy to hear you are passionate about ending it. I think that is a very important goal to have and to work toward accomplishing.

      I have one younger sister, and her name is Kimi. We live together because she is a third year at UC Irvine, which is where we both go to school. I also count my dog, Sara, as a “little sister” because she is an important member of our family!

      I cannot wait to meet you tomorrow morning! I hope you also had a relaxing weekend.

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

      • Yes, indeed, I do play soccer and tag at recess, in fact I love to play tag with my 2 best friends, Zaira and Jesenia, and I also like to play with my sisters Roxana and Mariana. I also enjoy researching about hamsters, dogs,and bunnies!!!!!!!!!!!!! I would also like to ask you some more questions= Do you like wearing make-up? What grade do you want to teach when you become a teacher? Why do you want to be a teacher?

  8. Dear Miss Yee,

    I desire to enthusiastically welcome you to our fourth-grade team. I’m thrilled to meet you.

    My name is Samantha, and I am a ten-year-old girl in Ms. Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to read chapter books and play soccer. I also enjoy going to my grandma’s house. I am most passionate about being green.

    I am thrilled to get to know you. Here are two questions I would like to ask you:
    1.How tall are you?
    2.Do you play any sports?

    Once again, I am very excited to meet you on Monday morning. Until then, I hope you have a pleasant weekend.

    Excitedly,
    Samantha

    • Dear Samantha,

      Thank you for the welcome! I am very excited to meet you tomorrow!

      I also love to read, so I hope we can talk about our favorite books soon. Do you play soccer at recess or with a team/club? That’s so sweet you like to go to your grandma’s house. I go see my grandma on Sundays, and it’s always nice to see her and to get to talk to her. That’s awesome you are passionate about being green, because so am I. I was in Environmental Club when I was in third and fourth grade.

      I am five feet six inches (5’6″) tall. I always felt short growing up because my little sister was the same height as me until she grew taller.

      I do not play any sports now, but when I was little I used to swim. I enjoy running occasionally now, but I usually do that at the gym.

      I cannot wait to meet you tomorrow morning! I hope you also had a pleasant weekend!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  9. Dear Miss Yee,

    I desire to enthusiastically welcome you to our fourth-grade clan.

    My name is Kenny, and I am a ten-year-old boy, student,and eager learner in Ms. Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to learn about Earth science. I also enjoy researching on the blog. I am most passionate about taking care of the environment.

    I am thrilled to get to know you. Here are two questions I would like to ask you.

    1.Have you heard a Michael Jackson song?

    2.Do you like English Language Arts or math?

    Once again, I am very thrilled to meet you on Monday morning. Until then I hope you have a happy weekend.

    With sincere joy,
    Kenny

    • Dear Kenny,

      Thank you for the enthusiastic welcome! I am so excited to be a part of your fourth grade clan!

      You’re a fellow science lover! When I was in elementary school science was one of my favorite subjects! I loved learning about the world around me and conducting experiments. What do you enjoy researching on the blog? That’s great how you’re so passionate about the environment. I also like being green, and I was in my school’s Environmental Club when I was in third and fourth grade.

      I have heard several Michael Jackson songs! He was a very entertaining musical artist. I also like his songs with The Jackson 5.

      I like both English Language Arts and math, but I like English Language Arts a tiny bit more. I like reading and writing, so I usually found ELA to be more enjoyable. However, I also like math and the rush of confidence and the feeling of accomplishment I would get when I got the right answer to a particularly difficult problem!

      I cannot wait to meet you tomorrow morning! I hope you had a very happy weekend too!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  10. Dear Miss Yee,

    I desire to heartily welcome you to our fourth grade family.

    My name is Edgar Alvarez, and I am ten-year-old boy in Ms Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I love to read fiction and play games that keep me fit like Chaos. I also enjoy writing on the blog. I am most passionate about helping to protect animals.

    Once again, I am very thrilled to meet you on Monday morning! Until then, I hope you have a happy weekend.

    Eagerly,
    Edgar AL

    • Dear Edgar,

      Thank you for the hearty welcome! I feel so lucky to become a part of your fourth grade family!

      I also love reading fiction books, especially science fiction. Chaos sounds like a fun game, but I have never heard of it before. Perhaps you can explain it to me? I think it’s wonderful that you like writing in the blog and helping to protect animals. I love animals and like meeting fellow animals lovers.

      I am also very excited to meet you tomorrow morning! I hope you also had a happy weekend!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  11. Dear Miss Yee,

    I desire to cordially welcome you to our fourth-grade class.

    My name is Magali, and I am a nine-year-old girl in Ms. Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to play games that keep me fit like Chaos. I also enjoy doing math. I am most passionate about taking care of family.

    I am thrilled to get to know you. Here are 2 questions I would like to ask you.
    1)What is your favorite dog and why?
    2)What is your favorite movie and why?

    Once again, I am very anxious to meet you on Monday morning. Until then, I hope you have a pleasant weekend.

    Enthusiastically,
    Magali

    • Dear Magali,

      Thank you for the cordial welcome to your fourth grade class! I am very excited to be joining you!

      That’s awesome that you like to stay fit. I have never heard of Chaos, but it sounds like a fun game. I hope to learn more about it soon. I also think it’s great that you like math. I care a lot about my family too. I go home to visit my parents and dog almost every weekend.

      My favorite dog is currently the Dachshund. I like Dachshunds because my dog, Sara, is part Dachshund. I used to like Chow Chows because my family used to have a dog that was part Chow Chow. I also really like “mutt” dogs because they are so unique looking and many need homes. My family got Sara from a rescue shelter.

      My favorite movie is Star Wars: Episode V—The Empire Strikes Back! I love Star Wars, and The Empire Strikes Back is my favorite because I like the storyline in that movie the best. My favorite characters are Han Solo and Chewie. I always liked Chewie because he reminded me of a big, fluffy dog.

      I am very excited to meet you tomorrow morning! I hope you also had a pleasant weekend!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  12. Dear Miss Yee,

    I am delighted to warmly welcome you to our fourth-grade family. I can’t wait to meet you.

    My name Leslie, and I am a nine-year-old learner in Ms.Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to do math, read, and also write. I also enjoy writing on the blog. I am most passionate about taking care of the environment.

    I am thrilled to get to know you. Here are two questions I would like to ask you: 1] What color do you like? 2] What kind of sport do you like?

    Once again, I am very excited to meet you on Monday. Until then, I hope you have a delightful weekend.

    Sincerely,
    Leslie

    • Dear Leslie,

      Thank you for the welcome to your class! I am delighted to be joining you in fourth grade.

      Math, reading, and writing are all important subjects to learn in school, and I think it’s great how you like to do all three! I have never been in a classroom with its own blog before, but I do know that I already love it. I also care about the environment. In fact, I was in my school’s Environmental Club when I was in third and fourth grade.

      I really like the colors purple and green. I don’t think I can pick a favorite between the two colors.

      My favorite sport to watch is swimming. I was excited because USA Swimming held the Indianapolis Grand Prix this weekend, and some of my favorite swimmers competed. I also like to watch basketball. I root for the Lakers, and I really like Pau Gasol. I don’t play sports now, but sometimes I run. I used to swim when I was little.

      I cannot wait to meet you tomorrow morning! I hope you also had a delightful weekend!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  13. Dear Miss Yee,

    I want to enthusiastically welcome you to be part of the family. I’m completely thrilled that you are nice and will be part of the family.

    My name is Margarita I’m a girl. I like nonfiction books. I also like to do math like multiplication, which is my favorite part. I like to cook with my mom. Last week, my mom and I were cooking cupcakes; it was fun. I have a puppy that is 1 month old and is so cute. His name is Good Puppy. He likes when I play with him. When I’m not here, he is sad; and when I am in the house, he is happy. He likes everyone. He will wag his tail.

    Oops! I almost forgot I am ten years old.

    I have cool friends that help me with my homework sometimes when I need help with it. I like when I have lot of friends.

    I’m really excited that you are coming.

    1):Do you have babies?
    2):Do you have a puppy?
    3):Do you like ice cream?

    Once again, I’m happy that you are coming on Monday.

    With sincere joy,
    Margarita

    • Dear Margarita,

      Thank you for the enthusiastic welcome into your family! I am so excited to be joining you in fourth grade!

      Wow, you like non-fiction books! I read mostly fiction when I was in elementary school and did not read non-fiction much until I was in high school. I also like multiplication! I think it’s awesome that you like to bake with your mom too. Good Puppy sounds like a great dog. I love playing with dogs and seeing their tails wag when they are happy. I also think your friends sound awesome!

      I do not have any children of my own, but I do babysit babies sometimes. I started babysitting when I was in high school, and I enjoy it.

      My dog, Sara, is almost ten years old. She is not really a puppy, but I still call her “puppy” sometimes. It’s hard for me to believe that Sara has been a member of our family for eight years already!

      I like ice cream, especially on a hot summer day. A scoop of ice cream can be so refreshing!

      I am so excited to meet you tomorrow!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  14. Dear Miss Yee,

    I wish to warmly welcome you to our fourth-grade friends. I’m so excited to meet you here.

    My name is Leslie Z, and I am a ten-year-old girl in Ms. Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I love to read fiction books and play games that keep me fit like soccer and Chaos. I also enjoy researching and writing on the Rankin-File Blog. I am most passionate about taking care of my family.

    I am enthusiastic to get to learn about you. Here are three questions for you.
    1.What is your favorite color?
    2.What president do you like?
    3.what is your favorite book?

    Once again, I am very thrilled to meet you on Monday morning. Until then, I hope you have a pleasant weekend.

    Your student,
    Leslie Z.

    • Dear Leslie,

      Thank you for the warm welcome! I am so excited to be joining you in fourth grade!

      I love to read fiction books too. Do you play soccer at school during recess or with a team/club? I think the Rankin-File Blog is awesome! What do you like to research and write about the most in the blog? I am also very passionate about taking care of my family. I don’t live with my parents anymore, but I visit them most weekends to see them and my dog. I miss them when I am away from home for too long.

      I really like both purple and green. I can’t choose a favorite between the two colors!

      One of my favorite presidents is Jimmy Carter. I think it’s cool that he used to be a peanut farmer! I also like how involved he has been with Habitat for Humanity.

      I can’t choose just one favorite book! I love The Witch of Blackbird Pond and the Harry Potter series.

      I am thrilled that I get to meet you tomorrow! I hope you had a pleasant weekend too!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  15. Dear Miss Yee,
    I want to welcome you to our 4th-grade class. I can’t wait to meet you.

    My name is Oswaldo, and I am a 4th-grade student and a 9 year old in Ms.Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to read, for example Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Big Nate. I also enjoy playing video games like Need For Speed and Fifa11. I like listening to music while I research on the blog. I like being green and making the Earth a clean place for animals and humans. I also have a pet too, and it’s a blue-green betta.
    I am thrilled to get to meet you. Here are two questions I would like to ask you.
    1. What is your favorite color?
    2. Do you like playing sports?

    Once again, I am very anxious to meet you on Monday morning. Until then, I hope you have a delightful weekend.

    Sincerely,
    Oswaldo

    • Dear Oswaldo,

      Thank you for the welcome to your classroom! I can’t wait to meet you either!

      That’s great that you like to read! I love to read too. I have not played a video game in awhile, but I used to like car racing games. I think the game my family used to play together was called Burnout. I also like to listen to music. In fact, I’m listening to music as I type now! It’s very important to keep the Earth a clean place for all living things, and I’m glad you like being green. You have a betta! What is his or her name?

      I have two favorite colors because I can’t decide if I like purple or green more.

      I like watching sports more than I like to play sports. I used to swim when I was little and when I have time I run now, but I am not very fast. Do you like watching or playing any sports?

      I cannot wait to meet you tomorrow morning! I hope you also had a delightful weekend!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

      • My betta doesn’t have a name. It’s cool that you like playing Burnout; I like playing Burnout too! I like playing sports better than watching sports.

  16. Dear Miss Yee,

    I desire to delightedly welcome you to our fourth-grade family. I really can’t wait to meet you!! 🙂

    My name is Gabriel, and I am a nine-year-old boy in Ms. Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to read historical fiction books at home. I also enjoy running and playing sports with my family during the weekends. Another thing I like to do is to go camping and hiking with my family at Fresno. One more thing I really ADORE are dogs! I used to have a dog named Lucky. Lucky was a German Shepard; and he was very playful. He always licked me if I didn’t want to wake up. But, one day Lucky ran out of the house, and a car hit him.

    I am eager to get to know you. Here are two questions I would like to ask you.

    1. Do you like dogs?

    2. Do you like hiking and camping?

    Once again, I am very excited to meet you on Monday morning. Until then, I hope you have a delightful weekend!!! 🙂

    Excitedly,

    Gabriel

    • Dear Gabriel,

      Thank you for the welcome into your fourth grade family! I am delighted to be joining your class!

      I also enjoy reading historical fiction! Do you also like to read historical fiction at school? Your weekends sound like they keep you very active and healthy. I am jealous that you go camping and hiking with your family in Fresno!

      I also adore dogs! My dog, Sara, is part German Shepherd like Lucky! When I was in high school, Sara would jump on my bed and lick me to wake me up too. (Sara still does this when I am at home on the weekends!) I am very sorry to hear about Lucky’s accident. That must have been a very difficult time.

      Dogs are my favorite animals! My parents tell me that my first word was not “mama” or “dada” but “dog.” I think that’s a funny story.

      I have only ever been beach camping, and that was with my dorm when I was in college. I have not been camping with my family before. I do like hiking. The last hike I went on was in Crystal Cove with some of my friends. We had a really good time walking along the beach and hiking up a steep hill.

      I cannot wait to meet you tomorrow morning! I hope you also had a delightful weekend!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  17. Dear Miss Yee,

    I wish to welcome you to our classroom family.

    My name is Erik, and I am nine. I enjoy playing and having fun. We could be a team. I like to play soccer and baskeball.

    I am eager and excited to get to know you.

    Sincerely,
    Erik

    • Dear Erik,

      Thank you for the welcome into your classroom! I am very sorry for my late reply.

      I like playing and having fun too! I think the class makes a great team, and I am very happy to be here with you all. Everyone has been so nice and welcoming.

      It has been a pleasure to be a part of your classroom for the past two weeks, and I am looking forward to spending more time with your fourth-grade clan!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  18. Dear Miss Yee,

    I desire to welcome you to our fourth-grade family. I am delighted to meet you.

    My name is Areli, and I am a ten-year-old girl student in Ms.Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to play games that keep me fit like frisbee soccer and chaos. I also enjoy witing on the blog. I am most passionate about taking good care of animals and keeping them safe.

    How many pets do you have and what are their names?
    Do you like to go to the movies?
    What movies do you see?

    Once again, I am very thrilled to meet you.

    Areli

    • Dear Areli,

      Thank you for the delightful welcome into your fourth-grade family!

      I heard about Frisbee soccer today, and it sounds like a very fun game. I also enjoy writing on the class blog, and I hope we can write more letters. I wish more people cared about taking good care of animals and keeping them safe. The world needs thoughtful people like you in it!

      Right now I have two pets. My dog’s name is Sara, and my fish’s name is Sprite. I used to have a ten gallon tank with lots of fish in it when I was little. Can you believe it all started with three guppies I got for a science experiment when I was in fourth grade?

      I like to go to the movies with my family and friends, but I don’t go to the movie theater very often. I think the last time I went to see one was in September. I usually like to watch comedies because I like to laugh.

      It was wonderful meeting you today!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  19. Dear Miss Yee,

    I desire to heartily welcome you to our fourth-grade family. I can’t wait to finally meet you.

    My name is Mayerly, and I am a nine-year-old student in Ms. Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to play Chaos with the class. I also enjoy researching on the blog. I am most passionate about keeping the Earth clean and helping animals.

    I am excited to get to know you. Here are two questions I would like to ask you.

    1.Do you recycle your bottles?
    2.Do you play music?

    Once again, I am very thrilled to meet you on Monday morning. Until then, I hope you have a pleasant weekend.

    Sincerely,
    Mayerly

    • Dear Mayerly,

      Thank you for the hearty welcome into your fourth-grade family!

      The more I hear about Chaos, the more I want to see the game in action! What do you enjoy researching on the blog the most? I think it’s cool that you care about keeping the Earth clean and helping animals. I also care about the Earth and the welfare of animals.

      I recycle my water bottles, but I reuse them many times before I put them in my recycle bin. I also recycle cardboard and paper items.

      As for music, I try my best. My mom gave me a few piano lessons when I was nine, then I had a few guitar lessons when I was fourteen. When I was in high school, one of my best friends tried to teach me to play the flute (I was once able to play “Mary Had a Little Lamb”). Unfortunately, usually when I “play” music, it’s when I turn on the radio. 🙂

      I had a wonderful Monday meeting you today! I hope you had a pleasant weekend too!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  20. Dear Miss Yee,

    I want to enthusiasticaally welcome you to our fourth-grade clan. It is my absolute thrill to welcome you to our fourth-grade class.

    My name is Silvia, and I’m a ten-year-old girl in Ms.Rankin’s class at Pomona Elementary School. I like to play a game called Frisbee soccer. I also enjoy doing math. I’m really bad at reading. I hope you can help me at reading.

    Sincerely,
    Silvia

    • Dear Silvia,

      I am so sorry for my delayed response! Thank you for the enthusiastic welcome. I have loved every minute I have been a part of your fourth-grade clan!

      I have heard of Frisbee and soccer before, but I have never heard of Frisbee soccer before. I hope you will explain how fun it is to me soon! I think it’s great that you like doing math. When I was younger math was never my favorite subject. I do, however, love reading. I have liked reading since I was in elementary school. I would be happy to help you with reading!!

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

  21. Dear Miss Yee,

    I would like to welcome you to our class. I hope you feel happy and comfortable with our school too. By the way, my name is Jesenia and some of my friends are Prisila and Zaira. You will see that Ms.Rankin is very nice teacher.

    I am going to ask some questions…a little like: What is your favorite sport and what do you do in your free time? I like to play soccer, and I love basketball. I am 10 years old. My favorite subjects in school are writting and art. My favorite food is pizza. What is your favorite subject in school and your favorite food?

    Sincerely,
    Jesenia
    🙂

    • Dear Jesenia,

      I am so sorry for my delayed reply! I would like to thank you for welcoming me into your classroom. I have only known Ms. Rankin for a few weeks, but I can already tell she is a very nice teacher!

      My favorite sport to watch is swimming. I am not very athletic myself, but I do try some sports occasionally. I like to swim and run, but I am not very fast at either. I like to watch basketball on TV too. I like to watch Laker games with my dad when I am home on the weekends.

      I love writing and art projects too! I hope we can do a lot of both in the classroom in the future! I think writing and reading were my favorite subjects in school. I agree that pizza is delicious. What is your favorite pizza topping? I love mushroom pizza.

      Enthusiastically,
      Miss Yee

Leave a Reply

