Resources for “My Name is Maria Isabel”

Standard

This week, we are reading My Name is Maria Isabel in our Houghton Mifflin reading anthology.  Here are some resources to increase your comprehension and enjoyment of this reading selection.

Click on “Meet the Author” and “Meet the Illustrator“ to learn about the author and illustrator.

Click on Word Search to download and complete a word search for My Name Is Maria Isabel.

Click on e-Word Game to practice the vocabulary words.

Click on Comprehension Quiz to take a test on My Name Is Maria Isabel.

Click on Tell Me About My Name to discover the etymology and meaning of your first name.

About Martha Rankin

I'm an educator for Newport-Mesa USD. I want to continually see things in new ways. I find inspiration in Gandhi's challenge: "You must be the change you want to see in the world."

53 responses »

  1. I learned that Alma Flor Ada grew up in Cuba. Her family lived in a “wonderful big old house.” I also learned that Alma Flor Ada says that she writes to share some of the feelings she had as a child: “the joy, the excitement, the surprise.” She says that seeing her books in the hands of a child is one of her greatest joys.

  2. I learned that Melodye Benson Rosales spreads her talent far and wide in the world of children’s books. She has created illustrations for the “Addy” books in the popular American Girls series, and she has illustrated a collection of poems. She has also written books of her own, including a new series featuring the character Minnie Merriweather.

  3. Did you know that Alma Flor Ada writes to share some of the feelings she had as a child :”the joy,the excitement,the surprise.”

Leave a Reply

