“Hallowed Haiku” Poetry Exhibit

Standard

Our 4th-grade class is honored to present its annual online poetry exhibit and competition: Hallowed Haiku.  

You are invited to read our haiku submissions and vote on your favorite haiku.  Our online poll opens on Thursday, September 29 at 7PM and closes on Monday, October 3 at 7PM.

This year’s Hallowed Haiku exhibit features original haiku from twenty-nine 4th grade poets.  The submissions are traditional haiku, consisting of three short lines.  The first line contains five (5) syllables, the second line seven (7) syllables, and the third line five (5) syllables.

The starred (***) haiku submissions qualify for our online competition because they feature a simile or metaphor that helps “paint” a mental image in the reader’s mind.  This is the challenge of Haiku – to put the poem’s meaning and imagery in the reader’s mind in ONLY 17 syllables over just three (3) lines of poetry!

You may read our students’ poetry submissions by clicking and downloading the hyper-linked poems below. You may vote by using our PollDaddy poll below.  We respectfully ask that you vote only once; therefore, please read the submissions carefully and choose your favorite haiku wisely.

Thank you for your participation!!  Express!  Impress!!  Press on!!!!

12 responses »

  1. I always enjoy seeing what my students from last year are doing this year. I could see the rainbows and feel the sunshine. Write on!

  2. I still remember the Haiku I wrote about a rose when I was in 4th grade….Rose
    A small pretty rose
    blooming on a sunny day
    in my garden now…

    Mr W

  3. I am proud of all twenty-nine Haiku poets. You have demonstrated understanding of syllabication by creating haiku poems that contain the 5-syllable, 7-syllable, 5-syllable pattern.

    I am also pleased with your creative use of similes (similes make me smile) and descriptive language.

    Well done, 4th grade poets. Write on!

  4. These poems are lovely. I enjoyed them all, and I found the language in “The Moon” unexpected, like an exquisite riddle. Thank you fourth grade, for sharing this inspiring work.

  5. I really liked ALL of your haikus! It was very hard for me to choose just one, but I did. I will be anxious to see the results of the voting.

    I bet it is a lot of fun being in Ms. Rankin’s class! Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

